Being Aware & Thankful

My friend and mentor #AlauraRaven #Mothershaman recently gave me a challenge, though she didn’t know it.  I bought some special oil for my hair…….yep….the Moroccan stuff.  Might I say it’s awesome, but back to my point.  She told me to put it in my hand and bless it and thank it for making my hair prettier, thicker and for growing more.  It’s the same concept as saying grace and giving thanks for your blessings.  So I’m giving it a good try and I’ll get back to you on that.

My real point is, how often do we miss those opportunities to bless and give thanks?  So when I opened my eyes this morning I decided to start giving thanks for everything I came in contact with.  An awesome bed to sleep in, a warm floor to walk on, hot water to take my shower, shampoo, soap, clean towels, toothpaste, toothbrush, hair mouse, hair dryer, curling iron, hair spray, clean clothes, the washing machine & dryer that made it possible to have clean clothes, good sneakers to put on my feet, food in my fridge & hot tea to sooth my soul.  That was just the first hour of my day.

Someone, many someones, had to make these things that serve me.  So in a very real sense they serve me too.  Farmers had to plant the seeds, water, fertilize and harvest the food I eat.  Someone had to get it to the store, where I could buy it.  There the cashier needed to take my money and bag it up.  It’s the same with every product we have—many hands went into making it available just for me.  So why not send blessings and gratitude backward to all those people that make your life and life style possible.

Namasté

Edith Mary

Love and respect

Leave a Reply

